Owlcrate Unboxing

“OwlCrate was created to share the joy of reading with the world. We believe in the importance of literature, and the magic of the written word. Stories help to expand our minds, expose us to new experiences, and show us that we’re not alone. But we also know that reading can often feel like a solitary activity, and we wanted a way to bring book nerds together. ” (OwlCrate).

Card

Hello everyone! It’s almost summer! School is almost over! The days are getting warmer! What better way to celebrate that then to do an unboxing from Owlcrate with the theme of “Sailors, Ships, and Seas.” For a little background, Owlcrate is service – similar to LootCrate – that ships out a package every month filled with book related items. I used to be subscribed to this monthly, but unfortunately I cannot afford it anymore. Luckily for me, this past Memorial Day, they put the past boxes on sale and I was able to buy this one!

Washi Tape

The first thing I pulled out was the mermaid washi tape. I’m not going to lie, this is one of my favorite things in this box. I am a huge fan of mermaids and so I’m super excited to decorate my new room next year with this. It’s so simple and probably not something everyone loves, but I thought it was so cute.

 

 

 

Towel

The second thing was this towel. This actually surprised me because I’m so used to knickknacks and other smaller things (like the tape). But this is a really cute hand towel and something I would want in my actual kitchen! It says it is washing machine safe too, so we’ll see how this holds up.

 

Notepads

The next thing was simple, but cute. In a previous box, I had gotten a little To-Do List from boygirlparty.com and I love it. I still use it daily and especially during finals. So even though this is simple, I think it is very cute and something I will likely use a lot.

 

 

 

 

Pin

There isn’t much to say about this little guy. He’s the Owlcrate mascot dressed up in a pirate’s costume. And it’s a pin. Cute!

 

 

 

 

 

Necklace

So this is the back (my mistake) and the front is down below. This necklace is so cute! I know not this isn’t for everyone, especially if you’re really not one to wear nerdy/bookish things on you. But I think its a really cute compass necklace. I’m wearing it right now even!

 

 

 

Book

“There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.” (Source)

Add-Ons
Along with the book, it came with a little temporary tattoo, signed bookplate, and a note from the author (which I think comes in every box). Something about this just really ties in the box as a whole. It adds something more personal from the author and I love it.
Everything
Overall, this box was totally worth it. To be honest, I think if you can afford Owlcrate, it is totally worth it. Even though its a little bit much, you’re getting a bran new book along with a bunch of other cute things. I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed with a box from them. On top of that, the people running the company are the nicest people ever. It just is a really nice, wholesome, awesome company. It’s a really nice present to others (or to yourself). Every time I would get one in the mail, it would make my day. So overall, I’m very happy with this box!
Where to Find Them:
Sweet Daydreams,

Brooke

Leave a Reply

