We Are Okay

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSwlk50FdAFSkjvMR1RT6xCoiVXfDATv9OB7zqUL528hdhFwDIsrQ
First things first, Happy Pride Month from me to you! I love seeing a lot of LGBTQ positive books all over my feed for this month. This next book I just read today and I wanted to review it now because it seems perfectly timed. It is not a huge LGBTQ book (as in that is not the main point of this book) but I thought it was really sweet and real.
28243032Title: We Are Okay
Author: Nina LaCour
Series: N/A
Format: Hardcover
Release Date: Febuary 14, 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ

Summary

You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.


Review
Plot: I went into this book having no idea what it was about. I saw the cover and thought it looked beautiful so I just impulse bought it. What I learned was it was about a girl named Marin who was alone and in a dorm room for winter break. For three days her old best friend (who she hasn’t talked to for months) is coming to visit. This book doesn’t really have a straightforward plot. It takes place in those three days, but it also takes place in the past. We get to see Marin and Mabel’s friendship grow and how it all fell apart. It is heartbreaking but in a very simple way. 

Characters:
Marin – While I couldn’t relate to the tragedy she was going through, I definitely related to her way of grieving. You don’t really understand why Marin is so distraught at the beginning, but you know that she is not coping well. She wants to curl up and be alone, but yet she doesn’t like being lonely. She pushes everyone away even though it hurts herself and others. I could see some people finding her angsty or dramatic, but I thought her reactions were all very perfect.
Mabel – At first, I didn’t like her. I thought she wasn’t being sympathetic enough with her snide comments. “You’re good at disappearing” she says numerous times with anger. But as the story goes on, I start to understand the situation a little more and I can understand how hurt and upset she must have been. The fact that she flew out there to be with someone who was ignoring her showed how much she cared about the friendship. In the end, I fell in love with Mabel and I wish I could be her friend, too.

Cover:
This cover is exactly what brought me in. It kind of reminded me of the Lost at Sea cover or something similar. Even though the book was small and I had no idea if it was something I would like, I just couldn’t help but buy it. It felt so nice holding in my hand. I love the art style and the color theme. Overall, just a very pretty cover. 

Closing Thoughts:
I read this book in a total of two hours. I went out on the grass in the sun and just read. I have a hard time finding the time (or motivation) to read now that I’m in college. Another thing Marin and I have in common. But this book made me miss reading again. It was so simple, short, and yet beautifully written. Some of the chapters are only a page, which hit harder than the rest. The relationship between Marin and Mabel is sweet and complicated. I wasn’t expecting it at all and I think I loved that even more. It wasn’t an overtly LGBTQ book, but it was just enough that it felt even more realistic. LaCour didn’t use it as a niche or cliche thing, but as a real look into a young budding romance. I could relate to a lot in this story, while also learning a lot about grief. Not only do I enjoy the story, but I think LaCour is an excellent writer. Definitely pick this book up if you get the chance. It’s short and sweet – perfect for the reader with not enough time on their hands. 

Where to find John Corey Whaley:

Sweet Daydreams,

Brooke
Leave a Reply

