Highly Illogical Behavior

26109391Title: Highly Illogical Behavior
Author: John Corey Whaley
Series: N/A
Format: Hardcover
Release Date: May 10, 2016
Genres: Young adult, LGBTQ, Mental illness, Contemporary

Summary

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.


Review
Plot: This books is mainly a “coming of age” story about Solomon. ‘Sol’ struggles with his mental health and is extremely agoraphobic. This isn’t where teenagers like to stay in their rooms. This is a boy who has a panic attack at the thought of walking out the front door. But in spite of this, he actually isn’t that upset about it. He likes the little world he lives in, for better or worse. Then in comes Lisa. She hears about Sol and decides to make him her little project as a psychology student. This honestly really bothered me.  The fact that she takes this human and turns him into a good story for college just doesn’t sit well with me. Maybe if she had talked to him about it and made sure it was alright. Or even just his parents or another adult or SOMETHING. But she basically just decides “hey, here’s a good opportunity for some real life psychology experience” and goes for it. As someone studying psychology, this really bothered me. But that aside, it opens up the door and Sol slowly learns more about himself and starts thinking about the world outside of his house. Aside from my issues with Lisa, I thought that this was a really well written book about mental illness. You really learn to love Sol and want him to heal. I thought it was endearing and it definitely made me cry. 

Characters:
Sol- I really liked his character in this story. I thought he was a very lovable, yet sad character. I know people who struggle with very similar problems so this hit home to me. He portrays anxiety is such a real way that I loved it! He was also very aware of his issues. He wasn’t confused about his mental illness, and he knew exactly what he needed to do when problems arose. He’s also a really cute nerd and I liked that. 
Lisa- As I suggested before, I didn’t really like her. I think this was a little bit the point, was that Lisa wasn’t perfect either. She wasn’t this perfect girl curing Sol, she had her issues as well. But I just really didn’t like her throughout. She would get annoyed that Clark was spending time with “her project” and would get weirdly jealous at times.
Clark- Loved how nerdy and cute he also turned out to be. At first, I thought he was going to be this stereotypical boyfriend, but he actually was really cool and nice to Sol. He cared a lot about him in the end.

Cover:
Honestly, this is one of the best covers I’ve seen for a book. I like how he’s standing in this very black, boring room (a room in the book) and the outside is all colorful. And to me, this isn’t because the outside world is magical and better, but because it’s a lot to take in. To Sol, the world is just too much and it’s overwhelming. I felt like the cover was not only just cute, but really meaningful when looked at again. 

Closing Thoughts:
Overall, I really liked this book. It wasn’t my favorite and I wasn’t raving about it at the end. But it was cute and it told a good story. I have been really tired of the genre of “sick/dying/mentally ill teens trying to find love” and this wasn’t that. It was realistic and more about friendship than love. This is probably my favorite and more authentic mental illness work of fiction I have read. Not too dramatic, not too boring. It did take me a while to get through because the pacing felt a little strange. Not really slow, just weird. But it’s a short book and an easy read. I did cry though, so probably prepare for that if you’re a crier. 

Where to find John Corey Whaley:

Sweet Daydreams,

Brooke
Leave a Reply

