The Awakening

Coming April 4, 2017

coverTitle: The Awakening
Author: D. J. Torres
Series: The Nature of Gods #1
Format: Early release PDF
Release Date: April 4, 2017
Genre:  Young Adult, Fantasy

Summary

When gods and goddesses abruptly overthrow Earth, humans are given two choices – worship or die. Desperate to survive, Olivia and her family devote their days to fulfilling the will of the gods. But the wrath of the gods is insatiable and unpredictable. With her hope crushed, Olivia is resigned to her bleak fate . . . until she meets Nature.

Immediately, Olivia knows this charismatic girl with color-changing eyes isn’t normal. Nature looks like a teenager yet she has the power to control the weather and converse with animals. Nature opens Olivia’s eyes to a hidden world that had always existed in harmony with her own. However, know-it-all butterflies and mystical creatures aren’t the only secrets revealed as Olivia discovers the dark plan of the gods.

When Nature decides to confront the gods, Olivia is catapulted to the forefront of humanity’s battle for survival. Olivia must rely on her courage, strength, and newfound gifts as she faces monster-infested pathways and ever-looming traps. But does she have enough courage or skill to battle brutal gods eager to rule the world and dole out punishment to anyone who defies them? Nature and the world depend on it.


Review
Plot: I thought the concept of this book was really interesting. It is basically about these ancient gods coming back and demanding they be worshiped yet again. I personally find religion of all kinds very interesting, so I was excited to read a book about various gods. Without giving too much away, this book follows Olivia in her struggle to survive through this. It almost felt like the beginning of an apocalypse, but with gods which was interesting. I will say that the plot was fairly basic in that nothing completely new was done. I could almost entirely guess what was going to happen the entire time, and that gets a little boring to me. However, the way it was written kept me reading. The middle got a little jumbled up to me, and I stopped reading for a while, but the ending brought me right back. I definitely think that the plot is basic, but well written.
Characters: Olivia – The problem with Olivia is that she was just too basic for me. She was the cliche unpopular girl who gets bullied. Of course, this does happen a lot in real life, but it felt unoriginal. This is just how I felt about Olivia overall. However, I feel like she does grow in a really relatable way for young girls. And I think that the way her and Nature interact is a very good dynamic.
Nature – I think that Nature was way cooler honestly. I know that was her purpose, but she just seemed so strong and I loved reading about her. I almost wished the book was solely from her perspective, but I don’t know if that would’ve been as good. I think she really brought out the good in Olivia and gave everyone a lot more character. I also love how she just perfectly embodied the magic and beauty of the world.
Cover: The cover of this book is perfect to me. It just looks creative and magical and cute. If I was a young girl looking for a book, I would have definitely been drawn to this. It looks like something someone drew themselves, but not in a bad way. It just gives the book more heart than if a stock image of a girl would’ve been used.
Closing Thoughts: I think overall this books was very well written. I really like Torres’ style of writing and it kept me entertained throughout. I think if you’re very picky about your books and you want something completely and totally unique, this isn’t the book for you. But if you want something just very simple, easy, and completely fantasy then this is for you. I also want to point out that this is for younger readers (around 12-15) so it was a little young for me. But keeping a younger mindset while I read this made it much better. I think 12 year old me would have loved this book! Overall, I think Torres did a very good job and I recommend younger readers pick this up on April 4th!
Where to find D. J. Torres:

Sweet Daydreams,

Brooke
Leave a Reply

